Monday, October 23, 2006

Zodiac in a Hexagram

Zodiac in a Hexagram
It is hard to see the hexagram that frames this zodiac floor, because the camera is too close to the mosaics, but you can see it better here.

In the middle of the picture there are seven Roman emperors who represent the seven days of the week or the Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, and Saturn. Around them the animals sacred to them: wolf, eagle, dove, horse, bull and goat. Around them the signs of the Zodiac.
This well preserved zodiac floor from the third century now in the Bardo Museum in Tunis, but it was discovered in Bir-Chana near Zaghouan ,in central Tunisia.
Picture is courtesy of "bibbijian" who published it on Flickr.

1 comment:

zeevveez said...

About the connection between Zodiac tetraktys and six pointed star see

The word “zodiac” comes from the Greek root zodiakos meaning circle of animals. The Greek word is in turn traceable to the archaic root zo which has been translated as “source of life.” This derivation implies that the zodiac deals not only with symbolic animals but also with the animating spirit which gives life to all beings.
The Evolution of the Zodiac
Marcia Moore