Sunday, January 27, 2008

Eight-Petalled Lotus

Eight-Petalled Lotus hexagramIn the Kali yantra, the goddess is represented by the eight-petalled lotus, which stand for the eight elements : earth, water, fire, air, ether, mind, intellect and ego-sense.
Picture of  Eight-Petalled Lotus with OM in its center is courtesy of Ben Piven from Flickr

Latuff, Stretcher

Star of David stretcher
Star of David made from clubs that the Israeli soldiers use to hit Palestinians. 
Courtesy of Brazilian anti-Israeli cartoonist Carlos Latuff 

Jewish Ethiopian Figurine

Jewish star Ethiopian FigurinePhoto is courtesy of Hayim Shtayer who bought this figurine in the Jewish Ethiopian community of Chatzrot Yasaf, caravan site in northern Israel, which was dismantled afterwards. The Lion of Judah and the six-pointed star are emblems of former Ethiopian emperor Haile Selassie, therefore it is not clear if the artist made this figurine because he was Ethiopian or because he was Jewish.